Bipartisanship = Republicans Get What They Want At All Times

I’m not sure I understand Benen’s confusion. Pretty simple, really.

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) said on Thursday that he hopes that President Obama becomes a born-again moderate after the midterm elections and that a new, more balanced Congress brings with it some bipartisan comity.

But the Kentucky Republican made it very clear that any future bipartisanship needs to be defined by his ideological terms.

“What I hope we are going to have after November is more balance, more balance, which would give us the opportunity to do things together that simply were missing when you have this kind of disparity,” McConnell said. “But, I’m not going to be very interested in doing things left of center. It is going to have to be center right. I think the president is a flexible man. I’m hoping he will become a born-again moderate.”

I’ve read this a few times, and I’m still struggling to wrap my head around it.

via The Washington Monthly.

Leave a Reply

