I’m Not Kicking Your Fucking Football Anymore

Speaking of “caving to political pressure,” this IOZ guy is probably right and that really fucking sucks. I have memories of: listening to Jello Biafra spoken word where he ranted on and on about the Democrats being just as bad as the Republicans, reading about people who voted for Nader in ’00 because “there was no difference between Gore and Bush”, etc. I developed strong reactions to this, to the point where I told myself I wouldn’t be “one of those liberals” and haven’t listened to a thing Biafra has done since (though more outt’ve generally losing track of him than a specific boycott or whatever.) I still have a knee-jerk response to that kinda talk such that I want to punch anyone who implies there are not large, significant differences between the two parties — I mean, are we really saying President Gore would’ve nominated Roberts and Alito?

Still, in the end I’m not sure what side it’s better to err on– the Biafra/Nader voter one or the one where we repeatedly end up falling for the fucking Democratic okeydoke? I mean there was a point in early 09 where I woulda told you that though I didn’t have very high hopes for Obama I did think there was a very real chance of him being than your typical run of the mill sellout Democrat. What a stupid fucking thing to have ever thought. If nothing else it’s clear that the Obama administration’s biggest problem is not a lack of negotiating skill but a lack of giving a shit. I don’t know if IOZ is correct in saying the Dems and Republicans are two sides of the same corporate-militarist coin, but I am certain that it’s time to stop buying this exculpatory line of “aww man if only Obama had a better Senate to work with” garbage. Fuck that shit. I don’t pretend to know why, but the problem with Obama from a liberal perspective is not that he tries and fails. It’s that he does not try. Crediting Obama for wanting to enact liberal policies if only he had a better congress rly srsly you guys for reals!!! even though he’s done dick-all to prove it is no less idiotic than rightwingers excoriating Obama because they know in their hearts that he wants to take their guns away even though he’s made no effort whatsoever to do so.

Show me, Mr. President. If you aren’t willing to do that then I sure as hell hope you aren’t expecting my vote in ’12.

Leave a Reply

