Because This Is All About You

Obviously, yes, I was upset yesterday.  I’m glad that this could bring so much joy to peoples’ hearts, and of course to know that for many people, the happiest part of passing health care reform seems to have been knowing that it made people like me unhappy. The people wondering why I was so upset should contemplate that first, I think you people just screwed up both our health care system, and our fiscal system (even further), and that if I’m right, that’s not really funny.

via 8 Predictions for Health Care – Business – The Atlantic.

–Megan McArdle, clumsily attempting to lay a guilt trip on people who took issue with her joining the “I’m pretending to be worried that this is a stunning abuse of power that sets a dangerous new precedent in our politics” crowd. She proceeds to pull statistics and probabilities out of her ass: “Ezra Klein thinks the bill will save hundreds of thousands of lives in the long run, but i think there’s a 75% chance that it does nothing!” How very Peter King-esque of you Mrs. McArdle, but tell me this: is that a legit 75% chance? (Ctrl+F for the paragraph starting “I said on NBC last night…”)

Leave a Reply

