Sick

How come when a white person commits terrorism it seems like the Republicans want to try and understand where they were coming from? I remember similar fuckheads expressing similar sentiments after the Tiller murder and I know there have been other examples that I’m forgetting. When brown people blow stuff up it’s cause for a decade-long freakout and complete rearrangement of our national priorities; when the same things are done by white people, well, hey. A person can only stand so much big-government oppression you know?

Appearing on Fox News soon after Stack flew an airplane into a building, Brown told the national television audience that he “feels for the families” affected by the attack. In the next breath, however, the senator added:

“I don’t know if it’s related but I can just sense not only in my election, but since being here in Washington, people are frustrated. They want transparency. They want their elected officials to be accountable and open and talk about the things affecting their daily lives. So I am not sure if there is a connection, I certainly hope not, but we need to do things better.”

via The Washington Monthly.

2 comments
  1. fauxpopuli said:

    Actually looking back on this post I guess it wasn’t very wise. Stack killed a whole hell of a lot less people (2 + self) than the 9/11 fuckers did (~3000 + however many of the dead from the resulting decade-long freakout you want to attribute). Implying a comparison between the two was stupid, immature and shortsighted and I apologize.

    Shitting right in the face, however, of that thing my mom always taught me about the hostility inherent in restaking your original position immediately after apologizing…

    I still don’t understand why we can’t just look at situations like this and say, “I understand that this nutball wants me to act irrationally in response to his insanity; I refuse.” regardless of the scale or perpetrator. Put another way, if the response to Stack was the model for rationality then the vacated-bowel response we’ve seen from an Arabist failing to blow his undies up wouldn’t be causing another national conniption.

    Of course that and 5 bucks will get me a value meal right?

  2. fauxpopuli said:

    And then on double-further reflection I remember that I posted this in response to Scott Brown comparing himself favorably to Stack, not because of… whatever lead to my recent bout of liberal guilt. Fuck it, carry on, snark ahead full. Perhaps I need to make more frequent use of the save draft button given that I’m starting to piss into my own stream of thought.

Leave a Reply

