Apparently Dave Mustaine Is A Glenn Beck Fan

In the interest of demonstrating that it is possible to make cogent, non-drunken posts about song lyrics I give you an example of what happens when amateurs attempt political analysis. This came up randomly on my playlist just now and I had to go back and listen to it again to make sure it really was this nutty.

7. Endgame

Attention! Attention!

All citizens are ordered to report to their District detention centers!

Do not return to your homes;

Do not contact anyone!

Do not use any cellular or GPS devices! [<– GPS devices are tracked via satellite just like celphones. technically there is no distinction. additionally, these days most cellular devices are GPS-embedded. further redundancy.]

Surrender all weapons at once!

Attention! This way to the camps!

I woke up in a black FEMA box

Darkness was all around me, in my coffin

My dreams are all nightmares anymore [Nightmares = Bad Dreams. So in other words your nightmares are all nightmares. Yeah, fucking great. All my lunches are meals dude.]

And this is what I dream every night

The Leader of the New World Order, the President of the United States

Has declared anyone now residing inside the US of A

Without the RFID chip, you're just an illegal alien

An enemy combatant of America, welcome to the New World Order [Didn't this happen in like 1992?]

This is the end of the road; this is the end of the line

This is the end of your life; this is the…

A society in a society, inside the fence life as you know it stops [I am A Glenn Beck Fan]

They got their rules of conduct and we got ours [In Glenn Beck We Trust]

Be quick or be dead, [I stole this line from Maiden] you crumble up and die, the clock is

Ticking so slowly and so much can happen in an hour

[Solo – Chris]

This is the end of the road; this is the end of the line

This is the end of your life; this is the Endgame

I learned my lessons the hard way, every scar I earned

I had to bleed, inside the day yard

A system of controlled movement, like a giant ant farm

Any time is long time, now you're not in charge of your time anymore

[Solo – Chris]

This is the end of the road; this is the end of the line

This is the end of your life; this is the end

[Solo – Chris]

The Ex-President signed a secret bill that can

Land a legal US Citizen in jail [we know these as laws, Dave] and the

Patriot act stripped away our constitutional rights [well, maybe a couple of 'em…]

They say a Concentration camp just popped up, yeah, right! [Wait, "They?" I'm sorry but I need some attribution here.]

[Solo – Dave]

Refuse the chip? Ha! Get persecute and beat by the

Tyranny of Mind control, for the mark of the beast [There's a sentence here somewhere]

All rights removed, you're punished captured, and enslaved

Believe me when I say, "This IS the Endgame!" [It rhymed, god damn it. I'm tired. Shut up.]

[Solo – Dave]

via MEGADETH LYRICS – Endgame (2009).

Pity it’s so batshit — musically it really is a badass song, but the conspiratorial lunacy destroys the Soberly Dystopian Outlook On Life he was going for. He’s a comically bad writer as well: “the President of the United States /Has declared anyone now residing inside the US of A /Without the RFID chip, you’re just an illegal alien.” (Me grammar well) Worse: “The ex-president signed a secret bill that can land a legal US Citizen in jail.” Uh, yeah Dave. That would be what we know as a “law.” It’s not a conspiracy dude.

3 comments
  1. fauxpopuli said:

    I remember looking at “Countdown to Extinction,” contrasting it with The Black Album and coming to the conclusion that Mustaine really needed to get back on the Horse to be viable. Looking at the modern version of his band… well. I feel the opposite.

  2. all these mentions of “countdowns” and what not is really just getting that song “final countdown” stuck in my head. thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

