you fucking cowards

oh this is rich:

Sen. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa, one of six lawmakers negotiating on a Senate bill, said Thursday they had dropped end-of-life provisions from consideration “entirely because of the way they could be misinterpreted and implemented incorrectly.”

In a Facebook posting titled “Concerning Death Panels,” Palin argued Wednesday night that the elderly and ailing would be coerced into accepting minimal end-of-life care to reduce health care costs based on the Democratic bill in the House.

But there will be no “death panels” under the legislation being considered. In fact, the provision in the bill would allow Medicare to pay doctors for voluntary counseling sessions that address end-of-life issues. The conversations between doctor and patient would include living wills, making a close relative or a trusted friend your health care proxy, learning about hospice as an option for the terminally ill, and information about pain medications for people suffering chronic discomfort.

The sessions would be covered every five years, more frequently if someone is gravely ill.

The American Medical Association and the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization support the provision.

what kind of craven ass clowns are so afraid of sarah palin and her bullshit fear-mongering that they actually derail legislation over it? fucking stand up and tell people this is ridiculous. if the legislation is too complicated, then streamline it. you people are professional fucking politicians, but you can’t find a way to simply and directly convince people that the government is not trying to kill them? assholes.

3 comments
  1. fauxpopuli said:

    Wow, that is shocking even for someone who follows this shit on an hourly basis. All Grassley has to do is join into the chorus of insane bullshit – for *one fucking afternoon* no less – and suddenly it must be taken seriously because he is In Favor of Bipartisan Compromise and people Might Not Understand If We Don’t Bow to Their Lunacy. Obama is such a fucking pussy that, jsscrstIswr2godi12 airhole anyone who whines about Chicago “I don’t know what this phrase actually means” -style politics. I put up a post recently about folks pretending that a “1000-page” (actually 1000-paragraph) bill that’s been available for over a month is somehow enigmatic. I don’t expect to see an immediate result from every little stupid-ass small-town meeting and I recognize that (whichever proposal will eventually become) “the bill” is a good thing because it’s lightyears beyond the current system and I Care About People Who Aren’t Me, Cartman (Sadly, I can’t find the right link for this reference)… it’s still amazing to find that despite Americans’ opinion of their own health care having gone up 10% in the last month (http://www.realclearpolitics.com/articles/2009/08/13/the_health_care_reform_paradox__97866.html)
    they still want reform (http://www.baltimoresun.com/news/opinion/letters/bal-healthletter0810q,0,4651182.story). Disinformation only goes so far and while I admit I have no doubt that I’ll receive “omg look how well we prospered” emails describiring the fall of Obamacare, I am equally convinced that I’ll start receiving forwarded emails criticizing our own healthcare system from the same folks not six months’ hence. The only question is whether I’ll be able to hold my tongue as well at that point as I am now.

  2. fauxpopuli said:

    Honestly I wish there was a single Republican locally who I could trust to hear that “I wish I never voted Obama” without consequently pretending this means I’m against health insurance reform, against progressive taxes, wish Bush was still president, etc. I know I’m supposed to feel like there’s a reason to wake up every day but I’m not actually clear on what that explanation is supposed to be short of bald-faced outrage that progressives get shit on 24 hours a day in exchange for fighting for shit that every free-market moron not only appreciates but would die without.

  3. fauxpopuli said:

    Responded to my outrage by making the most valid political statement ever: sent an angry email to the White House. I bet they listen to me. My voice is important.

    zmg.

Leave a Reply

